Golfing Society

Probably the wettest season we have ever had and yet with one exception we managed to fulfil all but one result and that was the Scott Davidson Knockout competition which is in the final stage and will be played around April/May 2018 between Carl Olivarius and Roy Johnstone.

First outing was on Friday 2nd June where 14 members played a single Stableford round at Alloa Golf Club for the Cauldhame Cup.

1st Carl Olivarius         42 points

R/u Jim Nolan              36 points

3rd Mark Seymour      31 points,

Nearest the pin at the 7th hole was Jim Nolan

Second outing was on Wednesday 23rd June where 16 members played a single Stableford  round in pairs at Balfron Golf Club for the Robert Chapman Greensomes Trophies

1st Bill Aitchison and Carl Olivarius 43 points

R/u Ian Leith and John Anderson    42 points.

Nearest the pin at the 6th hole was Brian Horsburgh

Third outing was on Saturday 22nd July where 12 members played at Kinross Golf Course. In the morning for the Denholm Cup and in the afternoon in pairs for the Millars of Falkirk Goblets, both rounds were Stableford.


1st Rob McQuater      36 points

R/u Carl Olivarius       34 points

3rd Frank Walker        28 points.

Nearest the pin at the 4th hole for the Jack Hay Cup was Brian Horsburgh.


1st David Campbell & Les Watson         46 points

R/u Rob McQuater & Brian Horsburgh  41 points

The final outing of the year was played on Sunday 3rd September  where 14 members played  a single Stableford round at Scotscraig Golf Club for the Jubilee Cup

1st Carl Olivarius         33 points

R/u Bill Aitchison        29 points

3rd Willie Mills            28 points

Nearest the pin at the 13th hole for the Iain Gillies Trophy was Mark Seymour.

The Railton Scott Memorial Trophy was decided at Scotscraig where the player with the most points over the single rounds at both Kinross and Scotscraig won the trophy.

1st Carl Olivarius        67 points

R/u Frank Walker       50 points.

The other Knockout competition for the Crown Hotel Cup was completed and the result was

Winner Carl Olivarius

R/u       Kenny More

For the start of next year, there will be the AGM in late January and Prize Giving mid/late February. Dates to be finalised at the Committee meeting in mid-January.

Alasdair McCall